OWs around the world

There are branches of the OW Society overseas and OW representatives welcome news and contact from OWs who are living, working or holidaying in a country which they represent.

The current list of OW representatives is as follows:


Australia – ACT

Edward Bristow (C 68-72) email: ebristow@ozemail.com.au

Australia – NSW
Mark Hodgson (A 84-89) email: hodge_o@hotmail.co.uk

Australia – Victoria
David Myer (M 62-67) email: davidmy@netspace.net.au

Australia – Queensland
Gerry Fitzgerald (Bn 61-65) email: gezfitz@bigpond.com

Western Australia
Adrian Momber (Pn 71-76) email: amomber@inf.net.au

Botswana
William Stocker (M (82-87) email: william@property.co.bw

Canada
Richard Marshall (C 61-65) email: jmarshall39@cogeco.ca

Channel Islands
Chippy Scott email: chippyscott@googlemail.com

Dubai
Rod Sampson (Bd 73-77) email: Rod.Sampson@coutts.com

Germany
Julian Eller (Hn 63-67) email: julian.eller1@t-online.de

Holland
Mark Butterworth (Pn 80-85) email: family@butterworth.demon.nl

Hong Kong
David Mallinson (Pn 79-84) email: david.mallinson@mayerbrownjsm.com

Japan
Tim Lemon (C 76-81) email: timl@gol.com

Kenya
James Hutchings (T 73-78) email: james@dogrock.net

Monaco
Christopher Craven (Hl 86-91) email: cc@superyachtsmonaco.com

New Zealand
Bernard Robertson (M 66-70) email: bwnr@paradise.net.nz
Anthony Salmon (Hn 75-80) email: ant@bigcommunications.co.nz

Oman
Brodie Galbraith (Bn 62-67) email: brodiegalbraith@yahoo.co.uk

Republic of South Africa
Andrew Windham (T 63-68) email: andrew.windham@btinternet.com
Patrick Holford-Walker (Hn 66-70) email: patrickw@oep.co.za

Russia
Maria Chilikina-Brown (A 09-14) email: mashacb1@gmail.com

Saudi Arabia
Jonathan Chalcraft (M 74-78) email: mrjchalc@gmail.com

Scotland
Paul Heward (M 64-69) email: paul@hewards.co.uk

Singapore
James Templeman (Hl 93-98) email: j.templeman@hotmail.co.uk

Spain
Robert Nijeboer (Pn 82-87) email robertnijeboer@yahoo.com

Switzerland
Darren Glasper (T 88-90) email: darren@gmx.ch

Thailand
James Fanning (Pn 65-70) email: fanning_james@hotmail.com

USA – West
Grahame Reid (Bd 56-60) email: greid10621@aol.com

USA – East
Charles Hayley-Bell (T 88-93) email: charles.hayleybell@gmail.com
Will Looker (Bl 96-01) email: wlooker@hotmail.com

Wales
Michael Watson (M 54-58) email: natalie.michael@virgin.net

Latest OW News

Claud Raymond

OW Claud Raymond Victoria Cross Anniversary

21 March 2019

21st March marks the anniversary of the action in 1945 for which Old Wellingtonian Claud Raymond was posthumously awarded the Victoria Cross. Claud was at Wellington from 1937 to 1942, and was in the Hill dormitory. He became a School Prefect. His entry in the College’s Roll of Honour records that he loved both rugby […]

Read more...

OW John Fitzhardinge Paul Butler Victoria Cross Anniversary

27 December 2018

27th December marks the anniversary of the second action in 1914 for which Old Wellingtonian John Fitzhardinge Paul Butler was awarded the Victoria Cross. John was in the Stanley, 1902-1906, and then went straight to Sandhurst to train as an Army officer. He joined the King’s Royal Rifle Corps in 1907. In 1913 he was […]

Read more...

Remembering the First World War – our Wellington website, special exhibition, and talk

06 November 2018

As we approach the centenary of the end of the First World War, I’d like to draw your attention to the events and resources which we have produced to help us understand more about those from Wellington who fought and died. Over the last two years we have developed our First World War Memorial Website, […]

Read more...

Upcoming OW Events

22 May 2019

Career Opportunity Group: Politics, International Affairs and Government

6:00pm, Oriental club, London

Guest Speaker: Sir Anthony Seldon

Formally launched in 2014, Career Opportunity Groups were set up to provide support and networking opportunities for OWs (young and old) in whatever their chosen career. We are thrilled to involve more members of the Wellington Community and now invite parents to join all our career networking events.

This drinks reception is a gathering of all from the Wellington Community in fields related to Politics. Our sixth form students who attend these events find them invaluable, and we hope all from our Community who are interested in or working in the field of Politics will join us

Book your place »

24 May 2019

Eve of Speech Day – Celebration of Jeff Oakes

7:30pm, Combermere Quad

Jeff Oakes is retiring after 41 years teaching at Wellington College, as a teacher of woodwind and also in the last 10 years as Conductor of the Concert Band. To mark his retirement and to say farewell, we would like to invite you to Eve of Speech Day on Friday 22nd of May in the Upper Combermere Quad. More specifically, if you played in the Concert Band or were taught by Jeff, Simon Williamson (Director of Arts and Music) would like to invite you to join in with the Concert Band for one or two items with a rehearsal at 6 pm on the day.

For more information please get in touch: community@wellingtoncollege.org.uk


25 May 2019

Speech Day 2019

10:00am, Wellington College

We welcome pupils, parents and staff to celebrate Speech Day 2019 with us in the iconic Wellington Big Top. Enjoy a showcase event of the year’s activities, prize giving’s and speeches from the College community. The annual house picnics on Turf will take place from 12.30 onwards, along with an assortment of outdoor events including the Cavalry Charge, Gun Run, Exhibitions and full school Call Over.

Two e-tickets will be automatically issued per pupil with a very small number of additional e-tickets available to book closer to the event should families require more than their automatic allocation.

The additional tickets will be bookable on a first come, first served basis on the Forthcoming Events page on the main Wellington College website.

Book your place »

More events
Thank you to everyone that attended our Tales from the Wellington Archives and Tour on Saturday! These events are a… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…