OWs around the world

There are branches of the OW Society overseas and OW representatives welcome news and contact from OWs who are living, working or holidaying in a country which they represent.

The current list of OW representatives is as follows:


Australia – ACT

Edward Bristow (C 68-72) email: ebristow@ozemail.com.au

Australia – NSW
Mark Hodgson (A 84-89) email: hodge_o@hotmail.co.uk

Australia – Victoria
David Myer (M 62-67) email: davidmy@netspace.net.au

Australia – Queensland
Gerry Fitzgerald (Bn 61-65) email: gezfitz@bigpond.com

Western Australia
Adrian Momber (Pn 71-76) email: amomber@inf.net.au

Botswana
William Stocker (M (82-87) email: william@property.co.bw

Canada
Richard Marshall (C 61-65) email: jmarshall39@cogeco.ca

Channel Islands
Chippy Scott email: chippyscott@googlemail.com

Dubai
Rod Sampson (Bd 73-77) email: Rod.Sampson@coutts.com

Germany
Julian Eller (Hn 63-67) email: julian.eller1@t-online.de

Holland
Mark Butterworth (Pn 80-85) email: family@butterworth.demon.nl

Hong Kong
David Mallinson (Pn 79-84) email: david.mallinson@mayerbrownjsm.com

Japan
Tim Lemon (C 76-81) email: timl@gol.com

Kenya
James Hutchings (T 73-78) email: james@dogrock.net

Monaco
Christopher Craven (Hl 86-91) email: cc@superyachtsmonaco.com

New Zealand
Bernard Robertson (M 66-70) email: bwnr@paradise.net.nz
Anthony Salmon (Hn 75-80) email: ant@bigcommunications.co.nz

Oman
Brodie Galbraith (Bn 62-67) email: brodiegalbraith@yahoo.co.uk

Republic of South Africa
Andrew Windham (T 63-68) email: andrew.windham@btinternet.com
Patrick Holford-Walker (Hn 66-70) email: patrickw@oep.co.za

Russia
Maria Chilikina-Brown (A 09-14) email: mashacb1@gmail.com

Saudi Arabia
Jonathan Chalcraft (M 74-78) email: mrjchalc@gmail.com

Scotland
Paul Heward (M 64-69) email: paul@hewards.co.uk

Singapore
James Templeman (Hl 93-98) email: j.templeman@hotmail.co.uk

Spain
Robert Nijeboer (Pn 82-87) email robertnijeboer@yahoo.com

Switzerland
Darren Glasper (T 88-90) email: darren@gmx.ch

Thailand
James Fanning (Pn 65-70) email: fanning_james@hotmail.com

USA – West
Grahame Reid (Bd 56-60) email: greid10621@aol.com

USA – East
Charles Hayley-Bell (T 88-93) email: charles.hayleybell@gmail.com
Will Looker (Bl 96-01) email: wlooker@hotmail.com

Wales
Michael Watson (M 54-58) email: natalie.michael@virgin.net

Latest OW News

OW Charles FitzClarence Victoria Cross Anniversary

14 October 2018

14th October marks the anniversary of the first of three actions in 1899 for which Old Wellingtonian Charles FitzClarence was awarded the Victoria Cross. As his surname suggests, Charles was a descendant of the Duke of Clarence, later King William IV, through the Duke’s illegitimate son George, 1st Earl of Munster. Charles was born in […]

Read more...

OW Alexander Stanhope Cobbe Victoria Cross Anniversary

06 October 2018

Alexander Cobbe, pictured as a student in the Hardinge in 1887. 6th October marks the anniversary of the action in 1902 for which Old Wellingtonian Alexander Stanhope Cobbe was awarded the Victoria Cross. Alexander came to Wellington in 1883, two years after his elder brother. They were both in the Hardinge. The sons of Lt-General […]

Read more...

OW Charles Melliss Victoria Cross Anniversary

30 September 2018

30th September marks the anniversary of the action in 1900 for which Old Wellingtonian Charles Melliss was awarded the Victoria Cross. The son of a high-ranking Indian Army officer, Charles was a student in the Hill at Wellington from 1876 to 1879. After going to Sandhurst he too entered the Indian Army, and served in […]

Read more...

Upcoming OW Events

26 October 2018

Gardening Society: Wisley Autumn Walk and Talk

1:00pm - 3:00pm, RHS Wisley

Join RHS Garden Wisley’s enthusiastic Curatorial Team, on a walk and talk around the garden to see the spectacularly vibrant autumn display. Learn about the plants that put on a show at this time of year and what to look out for in the coming months. This session will involve considerable walking outside, so please come prepared with suitable footwear and clothing.

Tickets cost £23.00 for RHS members and £37.00 non-members.

Please book you tickets directly through RHS Wisley by 24/10/18.

Details of how to book can be found at: rhs.org.uk/gardens/wisley/whats-on

Book your place »

07 November 2018

Magic of Maths: Cellular Automata

7:30pm, Moral Room, Mallinson Library, Wellington College

Our Head of Maths, Aidan Sproat, continues the journey through some of the less-explored corners of mathematics. This week, explore the bizarre world of cellular automata as we ask what happens when maths is left alone to run itself. Does it generate beauty, or chaos, or both? What links seashells to traffic jams, and how can we simulate them both?

 

To register or for more information please contact: community@wellingtoncollege.org.uk


08 November 2018

Career Opportunity Group: Finance

6:00pm, Balls Brothers, Austin Friars, London

Formally launched in 2014, Career Opportunity Groups were set up to provide support and networking opportunities for OWs (young and old) in whatever their chosen career. There are currently over twenty different career groups.

We are thrilled to be involving more from the Wellington Community, and invite parents to come along to these career networking events. This drinks reception is a gathering of all from the Community in fields related to Finance, Investment, Accountancy and Financial Services. Our sixth form students who attend these events find them absolutely invaluable, and hope all from our Community who are interested in or working in the field of Finance will join us.

 

Book your place »

More events
Fantastic to see OW @Josh_Bowman (O 06) in a staring role alongside @ChristinaRicci in 'Escape from the Madhouse: T… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…